Skip to content ↓

Year 2

Welcome to Year 2! We have two classes in our year group, and all work together to ensure there is good continuity across all classes. Class teachers are Miss Castle, Miss Batram and Mrs Howells.


We are lucky enough to be supported by a host of teaching assistant and specialist 1:1 support teaching assistants. 


We plan an exciting range of activities to support learning across the subjects in year 2. Our learning takes us outside and onto the wider community where possible, to enhance children's understanding of their place within their locality. 


Where appropriate, children are encouraged to choose their own ways to record their work and to present their work, giving them a greater ownership of their progress and putting them at the centre of their learning. 


We build upon the solid learning children have had in year 1 using the RWI scheme and offer children who are ready, further opportunities to apply their skills in varied reading and writing experiences. We aim to give children a valid context for their writing, with the aim of enthusing all children to pick up their pencils and have a go. All children are encouraged to read at home and we aim to support this via several methods, such as reading raffle rewards and e-book subscriptions. 


We encourage the mastery approach to mathematical skills, and place a strong emphasis on number fluency, helping children to gain a deep understanding of place value and the order and sequence of the number system. Children begin to learn times tables in Yr 2, focusing on 2’s, 5’s and 10’s times tables. Children are set homework for this using TT Rockstars. 


We have the important job of preparing children for KS2, so are building in independent skills throughout the year. 


Links for Remote Learning:



Bure Park Primary School

Lucerne Avenue, Bure Park, Bicester, Oxfordshire, OX26 3BP

01869 354059